“Comedy of Errors” Best Comedy at Louie Awards

The St. Louis Critics Circle Awards honored the Great River Shakespeare Festival-originated production of The Comedy of Errors with three “Louies” Monday evening, March 18:

  • Outstanding Production of a Comedy
  • Outstanding Director of a Comedy – GRSF Artistic Director Paul Barnes
  • Oustanding Costume Design – GRSF Designer Margaret Weedon

The production, which was mounted at Repertory Theatre of St. Louis in February, 2012, featured most of the cast and designers from the GRSF production and a New Orleans at Mardi Gras, circa 1936, setting. It also incorporated GRSF Music Director Jack Forbes Wilson’s arrangements of gospel and Dixieland music.

The first-ever “Louie” awards nominated the production for eight “Louie” awards in total. Shanara Gabrielle and Scott Neale, both GRSF veterans, won in the Best Ensemble Performance, Drama, and Best Set Design categories, for Clybourne Park, also at Repertory Theatre of St. Louis.

“I talked to Steve Woolf, Artistic Director of the Rep, about our production of Comedy, and convinced him of its success. He and Mark Bernstein, Managing Director at the Rep, and other staff members were intrigued and excited by the possibility of adapting the production for presentation at the Rep,” according to Barnes. About 50% of the St. Louis cast were GRSF company members, including Doug Scholz-Carlson, Michael Fitzpatrick, Christopher Gerson, Chris Mixon, Evan Fuller, Tarah Flanagan, Kate Fonville, Ryan Fonville, and Shanara Gabrielle. Jack Forbes Wilson reprised his role of “Harry the Piano Player,” providing musical accompaniment for the performances as well as serving as musical director and arranger. The rest of the cast was comprised of actors from St. Louis and New York, and students from the Webster University Conservatory of Theatre Arts BFA Training Programs. “The production was very well received, and we had a ball.”

Photos from The St. Louis Repertory Production of The Comedy of Errors directed by Paul Mason Banres. Set Design: Erik Paulson
Costume Design: Margaret E. Weedon
Lighting Design: Lonnie Rafael Alcaraz
Musical Direction/Adaptation: Jack Forbes Wilson
Cast: Aaron Orion Baker, Tina Fabrique, Michael Fitzpatrick, Tarah Flanagan, Kate Fonville, Ryan Fonville, Evan Fuller, Shanara Gabrielle, Christopher Gerson, Kurt Hellerich, Christopher Hickey, Walter Hudson, Adrianna Jones, Dakota Mackey-McGee, Chris Mixon, Thomas Eric Morris, Joey Otradovec, Jim Poulos, Christina Ramirez, Doug Scholz-Carlson, Jerry Vogel, Jack Forbes Wilson, Lenny Wolpe

One Response to “Comedy of Errors” Best Comedy at Louie Awards

Leave a reply

There is no custom code to display.